Fitness Goals for 2016

I have three main fitness goals for 2016.

Goal 1:  Bike 1,650 miles.

I’m planning to bike significantly more than that, but at the very least that’s my minimum goal.

Goal 2: Walk/run 365 miles.

Again, I’d like to do more miles by foot than that but at the very least that’s my goal.

Goal 3:  Get cut.

Period.  I realize that’s pretty broad, but at the end of the day I’m tired of not quite pushing myself to my maximum physically.  I don’t want to waste another year thinking that I could have pushed myself harder.  So this year I just want to kill it.  I want to maintain my current level of physical fitness while adding in other activities that I enjoy like kayaking.

I don’t want to be a baby about ab workouts.  Of course they hurt, that’s because I let myself be lazy and skip them.

I had a shoulder injury early in high school which was followed by a fractured foot my senior year that required 8 months in a boot and on crutches.  I had just lost the weight from that injury when I hurt my back.  Three years of limited activity followed.  Finally right around the start of 2014 I felt “normal” for the first time in a long time.   Cutting out dairy in 2014 also made me realize how horrible I felt every day.  2015 was the first year in about seven years* that I didn’t start the day every day with stomach pain that made me double over.

Last year I really made progress on losing weight that had been hanging around for five years.

I’m done having all of those injuries and that yo-yoing in the back of my mind though.

I like how I feel when I feel strong.  And at the end of the day, I just want to feel strong.

*Let’s not focus on the fact that it took me seven years to realize my symptoms weren’t normal.
Leave a Reply

