Coffeeneuring Trip 1 – Weekend Two

We did our first Coffeeneuring 2015 trip.  Homie and I both needed library books and I wanted to take my new bike out for a test ride so we made a quick trip to the library then rode our books home, dropped them off and headed to Old Town for a coffeeneuring date.

Our theme for Coffeeneuring 2015 is “local places”.  There are so many local shops and businesses that I have never ventured into around here.  I decided this is the perfect excuse to explore a number of these places.

This is actually the first time I have ever biked down to Old Town.  I don’t know why.  I think in my head I thought it would be too crowded.  Sometimes I find the bike ride to Gravelly Point to be slightly less than enjoyable because I spend the ride focusing on the logistics of navigating people and passing rather than the scenery.  I assumed it would be even worse down by Old Town.  Not at all.  There were so many beautiful spots where I could have pulled over and had the view completely to myself.  I encountered fewer than five pedestrians and only a handful of other bikers.

We made a stop at Wheel Nuts bike shop on our way into Old Town.  They quickly adjusted my brake pads and trued the rear wheel on my new bike.

The Details

Locations:

  1. Lavender Moon Cupcakery 116 S Royal St. Alexandria, VA
  2. Starbucks, Alexandria, VA
  3. Alexandria City Hall & Market Square 301 King St. Alexandria VA 

Drinks:

Just plain coffee to go with our cupcakes.

Bike-friendliness:

As a whole yes, although there aren’t really places to lock up your bike and the sidewalks in many places are too narrow to lock them to a street sign.  There was room in front of Lavender Moon Cupcakery to lean them up against the front of the building while we went in, but at Starbucks we had to lock them together in an alley.  

Mileage:

Our total mileage including our trip to the library on our way to coffee and cupcakes was about 13 miles.

After Wheel Nuts we headed to Lavender Moon Cupcakery.

IMG_4260 IMG_4264

IMG_4267Is this not the cutest place?  I want to spend the afternoon here munching cupcakes with a book.

IMG_4268

Beautiful Cupcakes!

IMG_4269

Center – Peanut Butter Cupcakes!

IMG_4270

Right Half – Hummingbird Cupcakes

I got the peanut butter cupcake (middle picture) and Homie got the hummingbird (bottom picture on the right with the walnut).

IMG_4272

It was actually kind of chilly in the shade so we picked a sunny spot to enjoy our coffee and cupcakes.

IMG_4277

Unfortunately, I put the cupcake box into Homie’s panniers and somehow managed to tip the cupcakes over so they weren’t nearly as beautiful as they were when we got them.

IMG_4276

I totally jacked the cupcakes carrying them in the panniers.

IMG_4275

Overall it was a successful trip.  It was an awesome date on a beautiful day!

IMG_4273

One thought on “Coffeeneuring Trip 1 – Weekend Two

  1. Pingback: Coffeeneuring Around the Blogosphere and the Destinations Map | chasing mailboxes

Leave a Reply

