I’m Getting Faster

  * Not from this morning obvi

I did not want to bike to work this morning.  Hardcore did not want to bike.  But I also didn’t want to take the bus or Metro or any other currently available form of transportation so I made myself bike. 

I told myself I could go slow.  I forced myself not to race people who didn’t know we were racing.  I told myself if I got passed I would just focus on how strong my legs felt.  I even told myself I could walk once I got off the trail instead of riding in the street. 

I forced myself to repeat “It’s the journey that matters, not the destination” over and over. 

And I let myself go slow and just enjoy the beauty of the river. It’s almost prettier when the sun isn’t shining on it.  The river looks dark blue and calm.  The Lincoln looks gray, stately, and serious instead of gleaming blinding white.  

I made it and the second to last hill that makes me curse everyone seemed easier.  I biked in the street the last 3/4 of a mile and when I got to my office and checked, I had my second fastest time ever!

I might need to ponder what “slowing down” a little will do for me in other areas of my life. 

One thought on “I’m Getting Faster

  1. Good for you on biking even though you didn’t feel like it!
    Your sentence, “I forced myself not to race people who didn’t know we were racing.” make me giggle because I have found myself in the same situation many times. I want to race everything on the road: other cyclists, horses, tractors – but sometimes I have to remind myself to slow down. It’s hard 🙂

Leave a Reply

