The Summary of the Last Few Weeks

The last few weeks have been kind of crazy.

For about a month I was waking up before my alarm went off feeling wide awake and refreshed.  The past two weeks I have slept through my alarm and woken up every morning feeling tired, wrung out, and miserable.  I’m not sure why.  I’m going to bed at the same time, but I’ve been exhausted and I need it to stop.  I can’t function like this.  Plus, it’s not fun.

I’ve been biking to work and it has been glorious.  I’m so excited.  Cutting Metro out of my life has improved my quality of life so much.  That sounds dramatic or like it certainly must be an overstatement but it really isn’t.  More on this later.

Things really aren’t good with my cousin.  We found out this past week that the type of cancer he has only makes up about 2% of the cases.  It’s also virtually unheard of for this type of cancer to occur in a child over the age of 4.  On top of that there are some super crazy issues going on, but they all boil down to he needs chemo and radiation and it’s a very intense treatment and he is seriously malnourished.  That’s a huge can of worms that I haven’t gone in to yet.  But it’s not pretty.  The behavior of his mom is getting more blatant and scary and I’m just hoping that even without the benefit of time that the medical team sees her behavior for what it is.

We found a way to compost!!!  I’m so pumped about this I can’t even tell you.  It’s awesome.

I have been off meat for a while now.  I haven’t been able to stomach hamburgers for a few years, and for the last year and a half I can’t do red meat at all.  Chicken doesn’t taste good anymore and I’m tired of bothering with meat for the sake of meat.  I still cook it for Homie, but I’ve been trying to broaden his horizons.  I broached the topic of just eating as a pescetarian and Homie wasn’t really interested but said he didn’t care what I did.  I made a few things the last couple of weeks that he was obsessed with and he asked me if we could please do a meatless month for August.  Umm heck to the yes.

There are lots of things going on right now and some are good and some are not, it has been a little overwhelming transitioning into some new lifestyle choices.  I felt awesome at first, but I’ve been stressed the last few weeks.  I feel like I need a vacation and I’m about to collapse.  I’m trying to press through this.

This past week was one year at my job and I found myself kind of hating it for the first time.  I feel like going one year before I have a day where I hate it is a great run!  And while the things that made me hate it won’t go away, I think they are actually helpful for motivating me to continue pursuing my end goals.

Leave a Reply

