I’m Bossy

I have a new blog crush. I stumbled across The Jort Report at work last week.

It came about when I decided that I need to actually print/buy prints of all the quotes that get me through the day. My all time favorite quote, and probably the most true for my life is this:

The cure for anything is salt water, sweat, tears or the sea

I did a google image search because I couldn’t find any prints that I liked. And that brought me to The Jort Report which is the greatest name for a blog ever. I quickly read the recent posts, then in true creeper fashion I started reading through her archives while at work. Which led me to this post from several weeks ago.

And it got me thinking… In high school, Kelis “Bossy” was my anthem. Everyone said I was bossy. I loved it.

But the reason I loved it was because I knew about half of the people who told me I was bossy were actually saying I was “bitchy” and I was okay with that.

As I got into college though I realized I didn’t want to be described as “bitchy” and I started to resist the bossy label. I always felt the need to defend myself when people called me bossy. I would try to clarify that I wasn’t bossy, just in charge. And the reason I was in charge was because no one else was stepping up to the plate.

And that really was true about 95% of the time. No one ever took initiative and made plans or decisions when we were hanging out. And I like things to have a plan; plus my parents would never let me out unless they had details on what we were doing. So if I wanted to go someplace and no one else had made plans for me to run by my parents, I had to make the plans or not go.

I still find myself fairly regularly saying “I’m not bossy, I just…” fill in the blank.

But I’m done with that. I know the whole point of this campaign is to ban bossy. But I love the way Queen Bey said it, “I’m not bossy. I’m the boss.”

I’m gonna try to embrace it next time someone calls me bossy. I’m going to assume that they are actually complementing me on my leadership abilities. After all, if I were a man they would probably have positive feedback for the same behavior that they are labeling me bossy for.

Maybe I will even thank them and say “Thanks, it’s nice to know you think I would make a good boss.” Or “Wow, what is it about me that makes you think I have good leadership skills?”

Maybe… Probs I will just get a margarita and lament to my sisters that I’m not bossy. I just like to be have responsibility.

Leave a Reply

