My Mantra for Today

Fake it til you make it.

I feel like that’s my only option. If I don’t feel polished and put together, ready to work hard and be awesome, if I’m not happy and relaxed and full of energy ready to take on the day I just have to pretend.

I’ll get dressed and do my hair and makeup, looking professional and bright eyed. I’ll pretend like I didn’t wake up this morning feeling like I got run over by a truck. I’ll pretend like I have the energy I would have had I awoken in time to go for a walk or do yoga.

I’ll nibble on a small lunch and pretend like I’m not very hungry and I’m just trying to make healthy choices instead of the truth which is that I just haven’t gone grocery shopping.

I’ll sit at my desk and tell myself the roll of fat around my stomach doesn’t bother me. I’ll tell myself I’m working hard on getting rid of it. I’ll think through all the ab exercises I haven’t done and console myself with saying “tomorrow, tomorrow is the day.”

I’ll pretend like I’m working hard on all of my weaknesses. I’ll pretend like I’m mentally strong and ready to take on whatever comes my way.

Fake it til you make it baby.

Leave a Reply

